Basement Jams 10 Songs for August

Another month, another list. Here we go. 10 songs we have heard and loved this month. Music that stuck with us and got a lot of replays. Any genre and level of Music included.

1.  A.E. the 1 and Only – 2 smart ft. Knowledge the Wise

2. Rob Zombie – Living Dead Girl

3. Halestorm – Uncomfortable

4. MedizenKid – Easy Bleedin

5. Ominous the Monster – Set on Fire

6. Texas 223 – Hit The Wall

7. SeVIIn – Skulls

8. Tony Dent & Knowledge the Wise – Where the Monsters Live

9. Pablo Rodriguez – Hard to Explain

10. Yelawolf – Punk ft. Travis Barker and Juicy J

New Album Release! Bad Choices – The Remission

The Remission just released and I was excited to get the message. This guys been on my radar since he dropped his first feature on Ominous the Monsters last full album. He wasn’t bad coming out the gate, but his skill has just multiplied in the short time. 2 tracks on to his album and he is running paces around his own hooks. Not one to mince words, choices is clear cut about his life and Intentions. He is down for his and takes no guff and needs no explanations. Respect that. If you have followed him, you are already familiar with a few tracks, but there is a ton of beef in this supreme. With the full support and backing of his Monsters Ink Entertainment crew, Bad Choices has a solid first album. Goon Call fts  Ominous the Monster, who brought the fire. Pissed and Drink fts Knowledge the Wise. Struggle Addicts fts Tony Dent. Great features and some of my favorite tracks. Bad Choices. Check out this album and let me hear your opinions. The Remission is also available for download on iTunes and google play. 

Listen to Intro by Bad Choices #np on #SoundCloud

New Album Alert! Ominous the Monster – Rhythm Rose EP

I am a little late to the show but Ominous the Monster has dropped another crazy grip of tracks. Rhythm Rose, named for that most dear to his heart, is a 5 track EP. The title of each track is a single letter, which adds up to BRIAN. The monster himself said he felt like this was on par or better than his album ‘A Beautiful Sin’. I am here to tell you, it totally is. We are all monsters, most of us just hide it. Ominous wears his pain, insecurities, and fears on his chest like a badge of pride. You feel his struggle, so that means your gonna feel his rise too. If anyone should be rewarded for there hard work and talent, it is the MiE crew. For a taste of each ones talent, prep the last track, featuring Bad Choices, Tony Dent, and Knowledge the Wise. Monster stand up #MiE  

Listen to Rhythm Rose EP by Ominous the Monster #np on #SoundCloud

Album Review. Knowledge the Wise – Gettin’ Grown

Knowledge the Wise has just dropped his new album Gettin’ Grown. I have been waiting for this drop since it was announced. I first heard of Knowledge when I started getting into Ominous the Monster a few years back. I was downloading Ominous mixtapes and came across the ‘For No Reason’ mixtape featuring both artist. Find it at this link! It was a surprise, the lyrical acrobats these guys were doing. So finally I get to listen to ‘Gettin’ Grown’.

Follow me down this rabbit hole of wonder…..

Track 1. Sam Langford – I have always liked how Knowledge can speed up and slow down his flow and it is does not interfere with the tracks flow. Right out the gate he hits you with heavy issues he has or does deal with, like drugs and becoming a different beast. No facsimiles here, Knowledge is one of a kind.

Track 2. Grow Up – This track has a fast pace and flow I really enjoyed. I like the message here, raise yourself up out of the environment you were placed in. That is my take. Growing up in the gutter.

Track 3. Thief – If you are a fan of Knowledge, then you are already familiar with this banger of a song.

Track 4. Tribes – This track has Tony Dent on it. You can never have to much Dent! The beats on this album are impressive and I really like the piano and sax on the track. As far as hooks go, this song is stand out. It feels dangerous without being threatening.

Track 5. Drown Together – This song slows down the pace of the album. Can’t have the foot on the gas the whole time. I am always a fan of a female singer but I feel like she was a little overpowered by the song itself. I enjoyed the track and knowledge stood above the audio but this one wasn’t my favorite.

Track 6. I Know You – This one brings out the general. Ominous the Monster. The opening audio sounds like chains dropping on the ground or a man chained up in a slow powerful gait. Pretty cool opening. The music started slower and the lyrics were on point at a strong rhythm. I was thinking we were in for another slower track, then bam!  Knowledge doubles down his pace. This is the perfect spot on the album for the track.

Track 7. Space – This is a track about relationships and it pretty awesome. It starts out slow and is more spoken word than rap but that isn’t holding it back. Insecurity, dependence, pain, and fear. This one hit me.

Track 8. 925 – I usually do not dig repetitive word play but it is done in such a way that it makes sense. It is like an exclamation point to the situation being described. As a guy who has worked his ass off since he was 17, I felt the hell out of this song. Follow your dreams not the daily grind of work.

Track 9. Machine – As soon as I saw Bad Choices was on the track I could not wait to get to this one. Mr. Bad has come leaps and bounds from his debut feature on Ominous last album. I AM A FUCKING MACHINE! Then Knowledge comes in with the swift lips, cleaning up any swag left on the track. Only thing I did not agree with was the drawing out of a few words on Knowledge part. Solid track all around.

Track 10. Don’t  Read My Diary – Just listen to this one! I wanna speak on it but just listen.

Track 11. God Willin’ – This track takes it back to the funky sexy beats, and raises the emotions back to a happier setting. This one kinda reminded me of some old school hip hop, like some Tupac. The feature from Trilla cements that feeling. He had some killer speed burst in his verse as well. I wanna look into this artist.

Track 12. Persist – Another song long time fans will be familiar with. Check this one out for yourself. Will Smith would dig it. James Bond too.

Track 13. Thinkin’ – The song starts out like a classic melancholy rock song with the guitar sound. It is a smooth mellow track that touches on the things swirling around in his head about his family, music and otherwise.

Overall this album is really worth the wait. I feel like I know Knowledge the Wise a little better as a person, having heard each track. It is a hard life to lay it all out and be judged. Keep your head up and remember, everything you do effects someone else. Knowledge the Wise has made my life better with his music. I have shared some great times with my old co-worker listening to Knowledge, and take every chance I get to spread the word. #Ink #MiE P.S. that Hidden Track Though!!


New Album Release! Knowledge the Wise – Gettin’ Grown.

It is finally Here! Knowledge dropped his full length album! I just picked mine up , and I will be reviewing it very very soon. Pumped! Peep the MiE features too. Go download it now.

Purchase on Itunes at the link below.


New track from Bad Choices!

Bad Choices dropped a new track today. It is titled ‘Own Advice’ with a feature from the abominable snowman Ominous the Monster. Quality over Quantity is the rule you should go by, but these MiE guys are breaking all the rules. Quantity in Quality it seems. Check out the track.